Protect Howe Sound Flotilla

event-flotilla-2017.jpgMy Sea to Sky is very proud to launch our Protect Howe Sound campaign with a flotilla, in partnership with Patagonia, Howe Sound Biosphere Region Initiative, Skwomesh Action, and Backbone Campaign. Join us at the Stawamus Waterfront, a traditional village of the Sḵwx̱wú7mesh people, for a paddle out to demonstrate support for the protection of Howe Sound from unsustainable industrial development. Backbone Campaign is leading us on the water to deliver a special message about Howe Sound. There will be a drone to capture overhead footage and photographers and videographers there to capture this amazing action. You don't want to miss it.

Starting PROMPTLY at 8am, bring your watercraft and PFDs and meet us at the traditional village of the Squamish Nation, behind Totem Hall at the Stawamus Waterfront.

Motorized boats, kayaks, canoes, and SUPs are all welcome.

Personal floatation devices (PFD's) and appropriate water clothing and equipment are mandatory. NO EXCEPTIONS. Safety first!

How to get there: At the traffic light intersecting Valley Drive (near the casino) turn west towards Totem Hall and stay to the far left to follow Chief Billy Drive to the Stawamus Waterfront. Watch for signage. Please drive respectfully, you are driving by people's homes.

Volunteers needed: We need all hands on deck. If you are interested in helping make this day amazing and safe please email Anna.

Coffee and donuts will be provided by Fuel + Forest Cafe.

This event takes place on the traditional territory of the Squamish Nation. 






Martha Baldwin Sean Rank Lindsay McGhee Megan Leverette Joseph Chris Pettingill Laurie Block Crabby Abby Marcia Delves Urszula Lipsztajn Cory Leis Katie Lawrenuk Kristy Soper Scott Paxton Molly Harry Gillian Broughton Dave Berrisford Rebecca McCleery Angela Rivers John McDonald Angela Mellor Nina Downie Bill Moyer Elizabeth Johnson J.d. Dahmer David Crowther Talia Martz-Oberlander Estelle Matheson Angus Mackenzie Geo McLean Meribeth Tikkanen Chris Christie Amanda Bulmer Jaime Sharp Michael Fredrick Marlow Jenn Foreman Ed Harrison Dennis Flett Greg L' Angus MacKenzie Jen Kane Jen DeMunck Kate Drexler Jeff Van Mulligen Tina Currie Lina Kang Jeffrey Christopher Hunt Haven Jones Elle Cochrane

Who's RSVPing

Will you come?

Showing 98 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.